This section of our website is an archive of surfing news from 2004 to 2015

Archive Home Page Archive Beach and Surf Girls

“Quiet Assassin” Wins SABA Wedge Classic

Saturday, July 8th, 2006

SABA Wedge Classic

5A Rated South African Bodyboarding Association (SABA) sanctioned event

Sponsored by: First National Bank, Robberg Seafoods, Wavecrest Distributors, Ocean Life, Fish Bone Design Studio and deBIS Fleet Management

The Wedge, Plettenberg Bay – Southern Cape

Ian Kruger (CT) earned himself the nickname of the “quiet assassin” for his stealthy tactics of sitting alone away from the pack picking off perfect waves which he annihilated to win the SABA Wedge Classic.Kruger’s victory in the Pro division of the 5A rated Plettenberg Bay event will boost his position on the SABA ratings. Major sponsors of the R17, 500 event include First National Bank, Robberg Seafoods, Wavecrest Distributors, Ocean Life, deBIS Fleet Management and Fish Bone Design Studio.

“The pros this year showed such maturity and camaraderie – more so than any other division. I experienced this in my drop knee semi-final where I surfed my best heat ever, there was no hassling we just shared waves amongst ourselves; it was an unreal atmosphere. On the last day Mother Nature came to the party and delivered very good surf so all in all this year’s event was fantastic,” said SABA Wedge Classic Organiser Wayne Craig.

Vodacom Bodyboarding Showdown winner Alistair Taylor (Berea – Durban) once again put on a phenomenal display with Air-Roll-Spins to place second in the pro final behind Kruger. Mark Watts (Westville – Durban) was on form up until the final where the set waves eluded him; Watts placed third ahead of Mark Jucker (Port Elizabeth).

In the Drop Knee final Sacha Specker (CT) opened as the siren sounded with a 9-point ride and was untouchable for the remainder of the clash. Sascha Taljaard (Durban) tried to play catch up but finished as the runner up ahead of local star Sampi Kamffer (Plettenberg Bay). Former SABA Champion Vaughn Harris (Cape Town) took fourth.

The Junior final was the best of the day with excellent surf for the 20-minute showdown. Emile von Vollenhoven (Margate – KZN) put together the perfect combination of manoeuvres to out-score Jason Duvenage (Durban) who had a perfect ten under his belt for an invert air move. Josh Kleve (Cape Town) and James Jones (Durban) were hot in pursuit and finished third and fourth respectively.

The SABA Wedge Classic is also supported by Bitou tourism; they provided an exciting line up of activities on the beach for families to enjoy.

Product sponsors include Red Bull, Reef Brazil, Arnette Sunglasses and Logic Magazine.

The SABA Wedge Classic is the fourth event on the national circuit which counts towards the crowning of the year end champions in the Pro, Boys, Juniors, Men, Women, Masters, Drop knee, Under 12 boys, Under 16 girls and Development divisions.

For the latest news and views on SA bodyboarding please visit:

Wedge SABA Classic Results:

Pro Final:

1st – Ian Kruger (CT)

2nd – Alistair Taylor (Berea – Durban)

3rd – Mark Watts (Westville – Durban)

4th – Mark Jucker (Port Elizabeth)

Ladies Final:

1st – Lyndal Pells (Plettenberg Bay)

2nd – Jocelyn Norton (Durban)

3rd – Widor Scholtz (Margate – KZN)

Drop Knee Final:

1st – Sacha Specker (CT)

2nd – Sascha Taljaard (Durban)

3rd – Sampi Kamffer (Plettenberg Bay)

4th – Vaughn Harris (Cape Town)

Junior Final:

1st – Emile von Vollenhoven (Margate – KZN)

2nd – Jason Duvenage (Durban)

3rd – Josh Kleve (Cape Town)

4th – James Jones (Durban)

Boy’s Final:

1st – Aiden Kleve (Cape Town)

2nd – Ian Campbell (Morningside – KZN)

3rd – Janek Ferrardi (Durban)

4th – Terence Pieters (Margate – KZN)

U12 Boys Final:

1st – Daniel Thorpe (Plettenberg Bay)

2nd – Kleron Chont (Plettenberg Bay)

3rd – Nicolas Mortin (Plettenberg Bay)

4th – Levi Fraser (Plettenberg Bay)

Men’s Final:

1st – Sascha Taljaard (Durban)

2nd – Sean Tickner (Durban)

3rd – Ryan Johsen (Durban)

4th – Martin Otto (Margate – KZN)

Master’s Final:

1st – Lee Slabbert (Cape Town)

2nd – Mike van Huyssteen (Gauteng)

3rd – Steve Polinski (Cape Town)

4th – Robin Oliver (Cape Town)

U16 Girls Final:

1st – Jeline Derbyshire (Plettenberg Bay)

2nd – Kina Meyer (Cape Town)

3rd – Liezl von Vollenhoven (Margate – KZN)

Development Final:

1st – Kyle Wilson (Mossel Bay)

2nd – Pieter de Jager (Mossel Bay)

3rd – Matthew Cottch (Mossel Bay)

4th – Ethan Koopman (Cape Town)