This section of our website is an archive of surfing news from 2004 to 2015

Archive Home Page Archive Beach and Surf Girls

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is ON

Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau
ASP Specialty Event
Waimea Bay, Oahu/Hawaii
December 9, 2009
The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is ON

WAIMEA BAY, Oahu/Hawaii (Tuesday, December 8, 2009) – The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy, has officially been called “ON” by Contest Director George Downing. The ASP specialty sanctioned event will kick off at 8am. Wave face heights are in the 25-35-foot range.

In Hawaii, the event will be broadcast live throughout the day on Oceanic channel 250 and HD1250, courtesy of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. News feeds of event highlights will be produced today, along with high-resolution images.In addition to the major placings, Monster Energy will be presenting the Monster Drop Specialty Award for the surfer who makes the most critical drop and rides out of it during the event. The judges will determine the winner on the day of the competition and will present the chosen surfer with a unique Monster Drop Specialty Award Trophy.

Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy, gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the globe. It is the world’s longest running and most prestigious big-wave invitational and is the only one sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the governing body of professional surfing.

Because The Eddie requires waves at least 20 feet in size during the annual one-month holding period, The Eddie had only run seven times in its 24-year history.

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: Andy Irons (HAW), Jamie O’Brien (HAW), Michael Ho (HAW), Peter Mel (USA), Kala Alexander (HAW), Grant Baker (ZAF), Carlos Burle (BRA)

Heat 2: Kelly Slater (USA), Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS), Mark Healey (HAW), Reef MacIntosh (HAW), Darryl Virostko (USA), Clyde Aikau (HAW), Pancho Sullivan (HAW)

Heat 3: Titus Kinimaka (HAW), Shane Dorian (HAW), Keone Downing (HAW), Ramon Navarro (CHL), Bruce Irons (HAW), Brian Keaulana (HAW), Takayuki Wakita (JPN

Heat 4: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Noah Johnson (HAW), Greg Long (USA), Brock Little (HAW), Rusty Keaulana (HAW), Makuakai Rothman (HAW), Ibon Amatrian (EUK)